Welcome Cheryl Bradshaw, Author

Cheryl Bradshaw–author of Black Diamond Death and Sinnerman, the second novel in her Sloane Monroe series–has stopped by to share some information about her books.  Sinnerman is due out in September 2011.  Black Diamond Death, book one in the Sloane Monroe series, has been rated 4.8 out of 5 stars by reviewers on Amazon.  Welcome to our blog, Cheryl. 

 

What do you think readers will appreciate most about your book?

With Black Diamond Death, it wasn’t predictable.  Readers were kept in the dark about “whodunit” until the end, and from the feedback I received, everyone found that to be refreshing.  In Sinnerman, you know who he is right away, but you don’t know what he is going to do or if he will be caught, so in that way he’s unpredictable.  He also has a different motivation than a typical serial which makes him unique.

What is different about this book compared to others you’ve written?

Sinnerman is the second novel in my Sloane Monroe series, and yet the tone in some of the chapters is different because once I sat down to write it, I decided to give the killer a voice. So his chapters are in third person while the rest are in first and from the POV of Sloane, and I discovered that third person is really easy for me to write.  It just flows.

Why did you decide to write in this genre?

I started reading Agatha Christie when I was in college and I thought her books were so clever.  She inspired me, and I fit well in the mystery/thriller genre.  It’s easy for me to write.  Had I lived in Jane Austen’s day, I would write romance, but I couldn’t write modern day romance; it would have to be a throwback to another era. I am toying with the idea of writing a Western series no matter how dried up that genre is right now. If John Locke can do it, so can I. 😉

What is your greatest writing strength?

My editing experience.  I’ve been an editor for over ten years so my books are written like a final draft from the start.  I love it!

What is the hardest part about writing?

The hardest part for me isn’t the writing, it’s the want-to-smack-my-head-against-the-wall waiting.  Once my MS is finished, I just want to get it out, so it’s hard to have the patience to wait for a final proof and formatting, etc.  I am not, nor will I ever be, a patient woman!  On my tombstone, I’m sure it will read something to that effect.  “Here lies Cheryl.  The most impatient of women.  R.I.P.”

If you could meet any author who is no longer living, who would it be?

It’s hard to choose just one, and my first instinct will always be to find a way to meet Abraham Lincoln by some caveat like he read all the time or that there are tons of books written about him, so therefore he counts, but since he was never the typical living, breathing author like the rest of us, I’d go with Robert B. Parker.  Reason being, he was on my bucket list of writers to meet in their lifetime and a few months shy of that wish becoming a reality, he passed away. It was hard for me to accept and I realized I shouldn’t have waited so long.

Who is your favorite fictional character and why?

Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice because she’s sassy and feisty and never lets anyone get the best of her.  I find it amazing that her character was inspired in a time when there were no writing manuals or how to guides—it’s just great writing.

Can you tell us a little about your next project?

Next up is the third installment in the Sloane Monroe series, I Have a Secret.  It starts off on a cruise with Sloane at her twenty year class reunion.  In chapter one, one of her former classmates is murdered and thrown overboard…and from there, all kinds of mayhem ensues.

Sinnerman Product Description:

What if you’d been given a second chance to catch your sister’s killer—would you take it?  And if you did, would a maximum sentence behind bars be justice enough, or would he have to pay…with his life?

MEET SLOANE

Private Investigator Sloane Monroe has solved every case that’s come across her desk with the exception of one—the brutal murder of her sister Gabrielle. 

Three years ago the killer slipped into the shadows, but today he’ll reappear again in the form of a female victim.      

MEET SAM

Park City, Utah was a peaceful place until Sinnerman came to town.

Who is he, and why does he prey on innocent women?

Contacts:

WEBSITE: http://www.cherylbradshaw.com/

BLOG FOR READERS: http://cherylbradshawbooks.blogspot.com/

BLOG FOR WRITERS: http://unearththeclues.blogspot.com/

TWITTER: http://twitter.com/#!/cherylbradshaw

EMAILcherylbradshawbooks@yahoo.com

About Katrina Parker Williams

Katrina Parker Williams teaches English composition and grammar at a community college. She is a Barton College graduate with a B.S. in Communications and a Masters of Education in English from East Carolina University. She is also the author of a fictional novel titled Liquor House Music. Her works have appeared in Charlotte Viewpoint, Muscadine Lines, Usadeepsouth, and on the Wilson Community College website. Her writings have recently been published at The Saints’ Placenta and All Things Girl and is forthcoming in Dead Mule School of Southern Literature and Muscadine Lines.
This entry was posted in Favorite Authors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

