Welcome, Kelvin O’Ralph

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
We are pleased that Kelvin O’Ralph, author of the Young Adult novel LS The Beginning, has stopped by our blog on his blog tour.   He will answer some questons about his book, his writing, and his upcoming works.  Kelvin O’Ralph will also be giving away 2 e-copies of LS: The Beginning to any two winners who comment on this post.  Check out what Kelvin O’Ralph has to say.
 
Interview with Kelvin O’Ralph
 
How did you come up with the idea for your book?
The idea of LS: The Beginning came to me while I was watching the second film of twlight (new moon) in the cinema. Then I decided to write a paranormal romance book that’s unique and compelling with a different side of fantasy.
 
What do you think readers will appreciate most about your book?
It’s uniqueness, and deep mysteries surrounding the two MCs. 
 
Who is your favorite fictional character and why?
 
I’d go for Jean Grey in X-Men. I love her ability to move objects with her mind (telekinesis), and also when she’s in her phoenix state.
 
Tell us a bit about your writing process.
 
I usually set a deadline to complete a novel and when I’m done with the first draft, I put it aside and take on a new project. After a while, I return to the first draft I’d put away and do a thorough editing. I keep on editing till I find no fault whatsoever. Then I send out the manuscript to a professional editor to polish, depending on my funds. 
 
What is different about this book compared to others you’ve written?
 
Not only did I attempt to use American English in this book, I spent more time creating the characters and their behaviors, and also in forming a great plot. 
 
What is the most unique or unusual research you’ve ever done for a book?
 
Recently, I had to learn a bit of French considering a new added character in my upcoming book speaks French fluently.
 
What is your greatest writing strength?
 
I know how to tell a great story, and keep the readers smiling at the end of the read.
 
When did you decide to become an indie author?
 
Early this year, I decided to pursue the indie route of publishing since all my attempts to get an agent had failed. 
 
Can you tell us a little about your journey to publication?
 
It’s been quite rough. I started writing at an early age, and wanted to get published by a major publisher since 2009. However, this hasn’t been possible. I have received tens of rejection emails and letters. Once I got a contract from a traditional publisher, who then asked me to pay a sum of money, and so I drifted away from them. Since then, I’ve been aspiring to become a known author in the fantasy field, and decided indie publishing can get me there. 
 
What is the hardest part about writing?
 
Rewriting is the hardest part. One needs to scrutinize his/her work while editing and cut off some bits which might seem interesting but not needed. 
 
Who inspired you to write this book?
 
My first love, Francesca. I wanted to show her how much she meant to me, in words that is, by writing a paranormal romance novel that reminded me of her. 
 
Who are your favorite authors?
 
J. K. Rowling
Stephen King
Stephenie Meyer
L. J. Smith
Tiffany King Ross(indie author)
 
If you could meet any author who is no longer living, who would it be?
 
William Shakespeare. Where in God’s name did he learn how to write. 
 
Why did you decide to write in this genre?
 
Paranormal Romance offers two things to readers. One is the imaginary/fictional world which the can dream of, and the other is the romantic aspect which they can relate to. 
 
Best and worst writing tip you’ve learned?
 
Best Tip: Never give up – Keep Writing.
Worst Tip: You don’t have to read to become a writer. 
 
Can you tell us a little about your next project?
 
LS: The Beginning is the first book in a paranormal romance book. I’ve finished the sequel to this book, and would release it something in the autumn. Hopefully, it’ll be more interesting than the previous one, and the action & romance would be intense. 
 
To learn more about LS: The Beginning, visit Kelvin O’Ralph’s blog at Kelvin’s World.
.
.
About Katrina Parker Williams

Katrina Parker Williams teaches English composition and grammar at a community college. She is a Barton College graduate with a B.S. in Communications and a Masters of Education in English from East Carolina University. She is also the author of a fictional novel titled Liquor House Music. Her works have appeared in Charlotte Viewpoint, Muscadine Lines, Usadeepsouth, and on the Wilson Community College website. Her writings have recently been published at The Saints’ Placenta and All Things Girl and is forthcoming in Dead Mule School of Southern Literature and Muscadine Lines.
This entry was posted in Favorite Authors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

